

Arkansas Department of Education

Four Capitol Mall • Little Rock, Arkansas • 72201-1030 • (501) 682-4475 • Fax (501) 682-1079

Sarah Huckabee Sanders
Governor

Jacob Oliva
Secretary

MEMORANDUM

TO: SFSP FOOD PROGRAMS

FROM: ADE / DO / HNU DATE: MARCH 22, 2024

SUBJECT: NON-CONGREGATE FOOD SERVICE FOR 2024

This memorandum provides further guidance on the administration and operation of Non-Congregate Meal Service in rural areas during Summer 2024 for the Summer Food Service Program and National School Lunch Program Seamless Summer Option.

Sponsors that wish to participate in Non-Congregate Feeding for Summer 2024 in the following Metro counties:

Benton, Cleveland, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Faulkner, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Jefferson, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Madison, Miller, Poinsett, Pulaski, Saline, Sebastian, and Washington;

must be pre-approved to participate in Non-Congregate Food Service. Institutions in rural counties may opt-in to Non-Congregate Food Service by completing the Non-Congregate Request Form.

Per <u>7 CFR 225.16(b)(5)(iv)</u>, the State Agency is required to ensure that all non-congregate meals are served to area eligible sites. To further identify the eligible sites in the SNP system for site approval, claiming, and number of meals and supplements claimed, Sponsors must identify the Non-Congregate site(s) using the following abbreviations:

NC-PPU identifies Parent/Guardian Pick Up

NC-MDD identifies Multi-Day Distribution (3 days max)

NC-MS identifies Non-Congregate Meal Service

NC-MST identifies Meal Service Time

Example of a Site name as it should appear in the application, under SFSP Site Application - 2161:

Boys and Girls Club of Anywhere (NC-PPU) 1234 Main Street Little Rock, AR 72203

Reminders:

- You must complete a Non-Congregate Request Form and have it approved to participate in the non-congregate food service options.
- For programs that are required to complete an audit, compliance is required for all renewing organizations to be approved for the next program year. Please see 2 CFR 200.514 for additional information regarding audits.

If you have any questions regarding this memo, please contact your Application Coordinator.

Application Coordinators:

Sandra West:	Sandra.West@ade.arkansas.gov	501-320-8969
Deborah Peyton:	Deborah.Peyton@ade.arkansas.gov	501-682-8869
Katie Razer:	Katherine.Razer@ade.arkansas.gov	501-396-6156
Tkeyah Cokeley:	Tkeyah.Cokeley@ade.arkansas.gov	501-534-4147
Danielle Henderson:	Danielle.Henderson@ade.arkansas.gov	501-303-4902
Perry Hunter:	Perry.Hunter@ade.arkansas.gov	501-320-8967

It is highly recommended that you keep a copy of this MEMORANDUM on file for quick and easy reference. A copy is also available in the Resource Library under **2024 Mass Alerts**.