
 
 
 
 
 
 

Division of Child Care & Early Childhood Education 
P.O. Box 1437, Slot S155, Little Rock, AR 72203-1437 

P: 501.682.8869 TDD: 501.682.1550 
 

We Care. We Act. We Change Lives. 
humanservices.arkansas.gov 

 
MEMORANDUM 

 
 

TO:      All USDA Food Program Participants 
FROM:       DCCECE/HNU  
DATE:     AUGUST 16, 2022  
SUBJECT:   STEP UP TO WAGE$ INFORMATIONAL FLYER 
 

 
Step Up to WAGE$ Program 

 
 

 
The Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas Program is funded 
with the American Rescue Plan Act Dollars and is 
available through the Arkansas Department of 
Human Services: Division of Childcare and Early 
Childhood Education (DCCECE). 
 
The attached memo was provided by the Arkansas 
Early Childhood Association and contains  additional 
information on available funding. 
 

 
 
 
Please keep this memo on file for quick and easy reference. A copy is also available on the 
resource library under Mass Alerts 2022 If you have any questions regarding this memo, 
please contact your Application Coordinator at: 501-682-8869.  



Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas Fact Sheet 

What is Step Up to WAGE$? 

Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas provides education-based salary supplements to low-paid teaching staff, directors, and family 

child care educators working with children ages birth to 5 years old. The program is designed to increase retention, education, 

and compensation. The program is funded with American Rescue Plan Act dollars made available by the Arkansas 

Department of Human Services: DCCECE. Payments will depend upon available funding and the recipient’s employer is not 

responsible for providing the supplement should funds no longer be available. These funds are time limited. 

 
Who is eligible to receive a salary supplement? 

A child care professional (teaching staff, director, family child care provider) earning at or below $23 per hour who is working 
with children birth to 5 at least 10 hours per week in a licensed child care setting may be eligible to participate. The supplement 
recipient must also have a level of education appearing on the Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas supplement scale. 

 
How much will I receive? 

The supplements vary based on the education earned by the participant and the eligible hours worked. The supplement scale 
shows annual award amounts for full-time eligibility. Awards are issued in two six-month installments, each after the 
participant completes an assigned six-month commitment period in the same child care program. The amount received will 
reflect the average hours worked during the six-month period; supplements for part-time employees are prorated. 

 
What do I have to do to participate in Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas? 

Interested child care professionals must complete an application and provide verification of (1) current employment in a 
licensed child care program, (2) current wages, and (3) education earned, as verified by an official transcript or National 
CDA certificate. See the program application for a checklist of documentation needed. 

 
How are supplements received? 

Payments are issued following commitment period completion to eligible participants who have met the requirements. 
Commitment periods run from mid-month to mid-month and are established for each individual participant using the 
application date, start date, and education documentation. The installment is based on half of the annual award amount and 
reflects the average hours worked during the six-month period. All payments are contingent upon funding availability. 
Program staff must verify that participants have worked in their child care programs during the preceding six months before 
payments can be issued. Once approved for an award, participants who remain in the same child care program do not need to 
reapply to receive future installments. 

 
How can I increase the level of the supplement I receive? 

Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas participants may increase their supplement amounts by gaining more education. The 
T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood® Program offers scholarships to childcare professionals who want to earn course credits toward 
specific early childhood credentials or degrees. Contact the T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood® Program at Arkansas Early Childhood 
Association (501-680-1930) for more information. Participants are encouraged to send Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas an 
updated official transcript after the completion of any formal coursework so staff can determine the highest possible award. 

 
Do I have to pay taxes on the supplement I receive? 

The salary supplement is considered income. Participants will receive an IRS-1099 form at the end of the year if they received 
$600 or more from AECA/Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas during the calendar year. Recipients are responsible for reporting and 
paying any personal income taxes due. 

 
Will I receive a supplement if I move to another childcare program? 

Payments are issued to participants after each six-month period in the same child care program. If a participant moves 
to another licensed child care program within the six-month commitment period, then the commitment period must be 
reset based on eligible reapplication and the employment date at the new site. This policy is designed to encourage 
more stability for the children in care. 

 
If I work in a childcare center, what is the center’s responsibility? 

A child care center must agree to provide verification of an applicant’s employment status and wages and agree not to use 
participation in the program to offset normal wage increases. The center is not responsible for providing the salary 
supplement should funding no longer be available. 



Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas Stipend Scale 
 

Level Education Required Annual Supplement 

8 
Bachelor's, Master's or Doctorate with at least 18 
ECE/CD credits 

$6,000 

7 

Bachelor's, Master's or Doctorate with at least 12 
ECE/CD credits 
OR 
90 semester hours towards a Bachelor’s degree with at 
least 18 ECE/CD credits 

$5,000 

6 Associate degree with at least 24 ECE/CD credits $4,000 

5 

Associate degree with at least 18 ECE/CD credits OR 
57 GE credits with at least 24 ECE/CD credits OR 
Bachelor's, Master's or Doctorate with less than 12 
ECE/CD credits 

$3,000 

4 
Associate degree with at least 12 ECE/CD credits OR 
45 GE credits with at least 18 ECE/CD credits 

$2,000 

3 
36 GE credits with at least 12 ECE/CD credits OR 
Associate degree with less than 12 ECE/CD credits OR 
21 ECE/CD credits 

$1,500 

2 12 ECE/CD credits $750 

1 National CDA $500 

GE: General Education 
ECE: Early Childhood Education  CD: Child Development 
CDA: Child Development Associate 

 
Step up to WAGE$ Arkansas is a demonstration program of Child Care Services Association and is based on the Child Care 
WAGE$ Program. 

Arkansas Early Childhood Association is the administrative home of Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas and T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood® 

Arkansas. 
 

AECA/Step Up to WAGE$ Arkansas 
P.O. Box 2520 
Bentonville, AR 72712 
479-803-8342 
501-680-1930 
wages@arkansasearlychildhood.org 
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